E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > General Automotive (non-BMW) Talk + Photos/Videos > Better track car

07-27-2011, 02:52 PM   #1
03///m3
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2013 E92 M3

Better track car

I'm considering either a Mini John Cooper works or RX8 R3. Anyone have any insight as to which might be the better track car? Main attributes i'm looking for besides performance are safety and reliability/ ease of maintenance.

I understand the MC is front wheel drive while the R3 is rear wheel.

I have a lot of track experience with my prior M3's and skip Barber race series. I've got a 328 xdrive now that i'm considering giving to my wife if i get one of these cars. Other option is to mod the 328 however i'd like to keep what ever car i get mostly stock with the exception of track brake pads/minor suspension work. Just looking for a fun car that can be driven at the track with minor mods...
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2011, 03:28 PM   #2
JoosyJoos
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 335d

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [0.00]
I'd go with the mini personally. The rotaries burn oil and are known to have problems. That and they have almost no torque whatsoever.

I see more Mini's in HPDE's and autocrosses than RX8s by a long shot.

1997 M3 Coupe - BMWCCA I-Prepared #22
2006 M Roadster - 23,000 miles and slowly counting
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2011, 10:31 PM   #3
tarheel91
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: ESS Z4 3.0i

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoosyJoos View Post
I'd go with the mini personally. The rotaries burn oil and are known to have problems. That and they have almost no torque whatsoever.

I see more Mini's in HPDE's and autocrosses than RX8s by a long shot.
Just to be clear, rotaries burn oil by design.