E90Post
 


Extreme Powerhouse
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > DIY: E9X ACC Retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-06-2019, 01:45 AM   #89
omare90
Enlisted Member
14
Rep
49
Posts

Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptpending View Post
offtopic but x6 heated slip ring is not compatible with e9x heated wheels
Yeah I kind of figured but I was hoping someone come up with an adapter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vilord View Post
yeah x6 ring has a different number of pins and different connector for the heated wheel. I used the ring from the same car that the heated wheel came off of (a wrecked e92 with a blown airbag and damaged combination switchset), the cruise stalk from the X6 combo switch, and the rest of the combo switchset from my e91, because it has rear wiper control that wasn't on either of the others.

You can use the X6 ring if you use an X6 wheel, which is what I would've done if I could've found one, the X6 sport wheel is very nice!
The X6 sport wheel with airbag is too expensive, and not enough value IMO. I'll keep the clock spring in case one cheap enough turns up. But for now I'm sticking with a simple swap. Finally got all the parts needed. Once more, I'm following another DIY by Nickco43 https://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1528395

Attached pic shows the prices I paid on eBay. The cost will come down more once I resell the spare parts I won't need after the swap such as the stalks, upper trim with my old lower trim, old steering wheel, etc.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 08:35 AM   #90
vilord
Major
488
Rep
1,309
Posts

Drives: E91, Tundra, TT, SV650
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
unrulyteach Did you need to change the vin on either the LDM or ACC modules?
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2019, 12:45 AM   #91
unrulyteach
Colonel
unrulyteach's Avatar
United_States
392
Rep
2,367
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: myrtle beach sc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by vilord View Post
unrulyteach Did you need to change the vin on either the LDM or ACC modules?
Yes i had to with winkfp had update them too
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2019, 02:07 PM   #92
unrulyteach
Colonel
unrulyteach's Avatar
United_States
392
Rep
2,367
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: myrtle beach sc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumitru.o View Post
interesting! so after you coded the ACC function, you get the D1-D6 instead of just D?

i am almost there with this retrofit, hopefully will finish next weekend
Hey question where did u put the vertical adjustment screw, where did u put the horizontal screw
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2019, 07:38 PM   #93
vilord
Major
488
Rep
1,309
Posts

Drives: E91, Tundra, TT, SV650
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I have the longer screws top left and bottom right, short screw in the last spot. Rough install is 1.2 inches between the plate and the sensor at all screws.

Also, woooooooo! It works!
Attached Images
  

Last edited by vilord; 09-17-2019 at 11:31 AM..
Appreciate 1
      09-17-2019, 07:55 AM   #94
dumitru.o
coding BMW.....
dumitru.o's Avatar
Romania
474
Rep
842
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: the land of Dracula

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by unrulyteach View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumitru.o View Post
interesting! so after you coded the ACC function, you get the D1-D6 instead of just D?

i am almost there with this retrofit, hopefully will finish next weekend
Hey question where did u put the vertical adjustment screw, where did u put the horizontal screw
I don t remember but you can see this in TIS
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2019, 06:58 AM   #95
unrulyteach
Colonel
unrulyteach's Avatar
United_States
392
Rep
2,367
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: myrtle beach sc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Has anyone acc just become misaligned for no reason?
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2019, 02:24 PM   #96
dumitru.o
coding BMW.....
dumitru.o's Avatar
Romania
474
Rep
842
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: the land of Dracula

iTrader: (0)

maybe someone or something smashed the sensor?
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2019, 10:15 PM   #97
vilord
Major
488
Rep
1,309
Posts

Drives: E91, Tundra, TT, SV650
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I think if enough crap gets on the sensor it can screw up like that too
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2019, 03:28 PM   #98
københavneren
New Member
2
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: BMW e90 LCI 325D
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Denmark

iTrader: (0)

Yess!!
I have done it too, i now have ACC (with a MT transmission)

I hardwired the LDM and ACC into fuse 22 (since fuse 21 was already in use.)
i used a 7,5A fuse because i did not feel like the VW harness was ready to handle 10A.
This is the connector/spot for fuse 22:


Then i spliced the PT-can from the FRM module.. and i got the Turn on signal from the CAS pin 18. (like you guys have described)

But for some reason when i code the new $541 FA to the CAS and FRM i do not get the LDM and ACC module to show..
But i preceded anyways.. and default coded the rest of the modules (KOMBI CAPPL DSC)

Yay.. now it gives me a ACC malfunction warning.
As stated in the video.. i loaded up WinKFP and updated both LDM and ACC.. and then i default coded KOMBI, CAPPL and DSC..

FUCK YESS... now the freaking thing works!!

But for some strange reason the LDM and ACC still does not show.. (but whatever.. it works )

LDM and ACC does not show:



But sometimes the ACC is a bit rough.. but i hope it goes away when the sensor is calibrated.

And you lose a little bit of the joy, due to my manual transmission.. but it actually somewhat red matches the RMM when you change gears.

Video where the ACC red matches the RPM:



Video of the ACC working:






I do not have any videos in daylight yet.. but mann ACC is wonderful in heavy traffic

Last edited by københavneren; 10-24-2019 at 03:35 PM..
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2019, 04:12 PM   #99
unrulyteach
Colonel
unrulyteach's Avatar
United_States
392
Rep
2,367
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: myrtle beach sc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by københavneren View Post
Yess!!
I have done it too, i now have ACC (with a MT transmission)

I hardwired the LDM and ACC into fuse 22 (since fuse 21 was already in use.)
i used a 7,5A fuse because i did not feel like the VW harness was ready to handle 10A.
This is the connector/spot for fuse 22:


Then i spliced the PT-can from the FRM module.. and i got the Turn on signal from the CAS pin 18. (like you guys have described)

But for some reason when i code the new $541 FA to the CAS and FRM i do not get the LDM and ACC module to show..
But i preceded anyways.. and default coded the rest of the modules (KOMBI CAPPL DSC)

Yay.. now it gives me a ACC malfunction warning.
As stated in the video.. i loaded up WinKFP and updated both LDM and ACC.. and then i default coded KOMBI, CAPPL and DSC..

FUCK YESS... now the freaking thing works!!

But for some strange reason the LDM and ACC still does not show.. (but whatever.. it works )

LDM and ACC does not show:



But sometimes the ACC is a bit rough.. but i hope it goes away when the sensor is calibrated.

And you lose a little bit of the joy, due to my manual transmission.. but it actually somewhat red matches the RMM when you change gears.

Video where the ACC red matches the RPM:



Video of the ACC working:






I do not have any videos in daylight yet.. but mann ACC is wonderful in heavy traffic
Tried pulling the tree up in ista it usually shows on there, currently waiting on new acc to arrive
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2019, 11:32 AM   #100
unrulyteach
Colonel
unrulyteach's Avatar
United_States
392
Rep
2,367
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: myrtle beach sc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [0.00]
So i got another acc sensor (swap), didn't even hav to adjust it or anything just plugged it in and bam everything works like it should
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2019, 02:25 PM   #101
ChristianMoller
Private
Sweden
20
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: e91 325 touring
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by omare90 View Post
Yeah I kind of figured but I was hoping someone come up with an adapter.



The X6 sport wheel with airbag is too expensive, and not enough value IMO. I'll keep the clock spring in case one cheap enough turns up. But for now I'm sticking with a simple swap. Finally got all the parts needed. Once more, I'm following another DIY by Nickco43 https://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1528395
The extra scroll wheels on the x6, what are they for, will they cause problems on a E90?

Thanks´
Christian

Maybe i should ask this in the "heated steering wheel tread

Last edited by ChristianMoller; 11-18-2019 at 02:27 PM.. Reason: wrong thread.....
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2019, 02:38 PM   #102
vilord
Major
488
Rep
1,309
Posts

Drives: E91, Tundra, TT, SV650
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
The E71 steering wheel doesn't have scroll wheels that I've seen. Those are an F thing.
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2019, 10:32 PM   #103
e90Noobie
Private First Class
16
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: 335d
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Nunya

iTrader: (0)

Either I'm blind or no one else has asked one very obvious question which I'm very surprised about.

ALL of the ACC radar sensors for the 08-13 model year BMWs look exactly the same. Same connector, connector pins, and mounts. Does anyone know if I can use one from lets say a 7 series for my e90 335 because it looks literally exactly the same as the part number in the OP?
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2019, 06:01 AM   #104
unrulyteach
Colonel
unrulyteach's Avatar
United_States
392
Rep
2,367
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: myrtle beach sc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by e90Noobie View Post
Either I'm blind or no one else has asked one very obvious question which I'm very surprised about.

ALL of the ACC radar sensors for the 08-13 model year BMWs look exactly the same. Same connector, connector pins, and mounts. Does anyone know if I can use one from lets say a 7 series for my e90 335 because it looks literally exactly the same as the part number in the OP?
That I'm not sure about i doubt it tho the 7er acc module is way bigger. I think the 5er is too
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2019, 09:21 AM   #105
dumitru.o
coding BMW.....
dumitru.o's Avatar
Romania
474
Rep
842
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: the land of Dracula

iTrader: (0)

you can t use from another chassis, hw/sw is different
Appreciate 1
      02-29-2020, 12:48 PM   #106
dumitru.o
coding BMW.....
dumitru.o's Avatar
Romania
474
Rep
842
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: the land of Dracula

iTrader: (0)

Hi

Can you please explain how to align the sensor using INPA? I tried using ISTA and couldn't do it. INPA is all german an i don t know which are the steps and where to tackle it. If you could explain step by step the INPA process maybe with pics, would be great! Thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2020, 05:19 AM   #107
dumitru.o
coding BMW.....
dumitru.o's Avatar
Romania
474
Rep
842
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: the land of Dracula

iTrader: (0)

Finally did it with ISTA !
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 1
      03-02-2020, 09:37 AM   #108
unrulyteach
Colonel
unrulyteach's Avatar
United_States
392
Rep
2,367
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: myrtle beach sc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumitru.o View Post
Finally did it with ISTA !
Nice didn't hav to adjust mine at all
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2020, 11:26 AM   #109
dumitru.o
coding BMW.....
dumitru.o's Avatar
Romania
474
Rep
842
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: the land of Dracula

iTrader: (0)

Was in the same situation but after 1-2 month of use got error of miss aligned and got deactivated so i had to calibrate it
Appreciate 1
      03-02-2020, 05:54 PM   #110
unrulyteach
Colonel
unrulyteach's Avatar
United_States
392
Rep
2,367
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: myrtle beach sc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumitru.o View Post
Was in the same situation but after 1-2 month of use got error of miss aligned and got deactivated so i had to calibrate it
My first one was like that but the one i got now been working for 6 months knock on wood
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST